Statement of Information Practices

Our Role

Ontario Health, the Agency established under the Connecting Care Act, 2019, manages health service needs across Ontario to ensure the quality and sustainability of the Ontario health system, which includes the safeguarding, integrity, and the availability of information in the care and control of Ontario Health, including personal health information (PHI) and personal information (PI). As a result of a transfer order made by the Ministry of Health under the Connecting Care Act, 2019, effective as of December 2, 2019, the assets, rights, obligations and employees of eHealth Ontario were transferred to Ontario Health and the Digital Services business unit of Ontario Health – Ontario Health (Digital Services) – was created to provide the services that had been provided by eHealth Ontario.

Ontario Health (Digital Services) provides digital health services to support the delivery of health care in Ontario through electronic systems and processes, information technology and communication technology. Ontario Health (Digital Services) supports hospitals, clinics and community and primary health care providers by providing secure channels for accessing PHI as well as secure infrastructure, hosting, networks, email and related services for the transmission, processing and storage of PHI. In particular, Ontario Health (Digital Services) develops and maintains the electronic health record (EHR) in Ontario, which provides an electronic means to enable health care practitioners to share PHI with one another for the purpose of providing or assisting in delivering health care.

Legislative Authority

Ontario Health (Digital Services) derives its authority for the use, collection or disclosure of PI and PHI from privacy law, primarily the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004, including enabling regulations (PHIPA), and the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, including enabling regulations (FIPPA). PHIPA is the provincial statute regulating the management of PHI and setting the standards to ensure the confidentiality and privacy of that information, while facilitating the effective delivery of health care services.

PHIPA and the accompanying regulation O. Reg. 329/04 impose various obligations on health information custodians, such as primary care providers or family physicians, who collect, use or disclose personal health information. Ontario Health (Digital Services) is not a health information custodian under PHIPA. Rather, it can act in a number of different roles under PHIPA depending on its relationship to the health information custodians involved: as a prescribed organization (PO), as a health information network provider (HINP), as an electronic service provider (ESP), or as an agent to health information custodians. Acting as a prescribed organization under Part V.1 of PHIPA is the legal authority under which Ontario Health (Digital Services) develops and maintains the EHR.

Prescribed Organization

Under Part V.1 of PHIPA a prescribed organization has the power and the duty to develop and maintain the EHR – a secure and private electronic record of an individual’s health history, such as medications, diagnostic imaging reports and lab results, which can be accessed and shared by authorized health information custodians and health care practitioners (e.g. hospitals, doctors, nurses and lab technicians).

Under PHIPA, a prescribed organization neither collects PHI from health information custodians nor discloses PHI to health information custodians. Instead, the prescribed organization develops and maintains the EHR, which in turn provides a secure and private means by which health care organizations and practitioners can share personal health information with one another for the purpose of providing or assisting in the delivery of health care, and with other authorized entities as permitted by applicable law. For more information about the EHR and the types of information it contains, please refer to the Plain Language Description of the Electronic Health Record. The Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario (IPC) reviews and approves a prescribed organization’s information practices every three years.

Ontario Health (Digital Services) develops and maintains the EHR in Ontario in accordance with the prescribed organization’s powers, duties and functions as described by PHIPA. In addition to safeguarding the privacy and security of the EHR, the functions of Ontario Health (Digital Services) as a prescribed organization include: ensuring the proper functioning of the EHR; managing EHR data; making sure that EHR data is of the same level of quality and accuracy as what was submitted to the EHR by health information custodians; and analyzing EHR data to provide alerts and reminders to health care practitioners for their use in the provision of health care to individuals. The Privacy FAQ provides more information on how Ontario Health (Digital Services) protects and enhances the privacy of EHR data, including: who can see EHR data; how EHR data is used; and how access to EHR data can be managed.

While it is Ontario Health that is designated as a prescribed organization under PHIPA, only Ontario Health (Digital Services) carries out the role of a prescribed organization. As a result Ontario Health (Digital Services) has developed policies and procedures to ensure it carries out its roles and responsibilities in compliance with the prescribed organization requirements. As such, for the purposes of the EHR, all work, including the management of PHI, is currently being carried out specifically by Ontario Health (Digital Services) and only by Ontario Health (Digital Services) Staff.

Practices and safeguards to protect the confidentiality and security of personal health information

Each initiative Ontario Health (Digital Services) undertakes is reviewed to consider broader privacy implications as well as to ensure that appropriate measures are implemented to identify and mitigate privacy risk. Ontario Health (Digital Services) has implemented strong administrative, physical and technical safeguards, consistent with industry best practices, to protect the personal health information being transferred, processed or stored from theft, loss, unauthorized use, modification, disclosure, destruction or damage. Safeguards include the use of tools (both technological and physical), such as security software and encryption protocols, firewalls, locks and other access controls, including but not limited to the following:

  • appointment of a Chief Privacy Officer;
  • privacy assessments performed on all projects and initiatives to identify and mitigate privacy risks;
  • a comprehensive suite of privacy policies and security standards outlining our information handling practices;
  • privacy and security training completed by all staff upon joining and annually thereafter, including role-based training for individuals who have defined and controlled access to personal information or personal health information;
  • agreements with health information custodians (health care providers and organizations) that outline the roles, responsibilities and obligations governing their contribution and access to the EHR; and
  • access controls to ensure individuals are only granted access to personal information or personal health information that is directly proportionate to the time and purpose required to perform their role.

For more information about the safeguards in place at Ontario Health (Digital Services) please check here. For privacy impact assessments, check here.


Your Privacy Rights

Accessing and correcting your records of personal health information

You have a right under PHIPA to access your health data. However, patients do not currently have digital access to their EHR data. Providing patients and their families with digital access to their EHR data is a priority for Ontario Health and the Ministry of Health, who are working together to support this. Until that time, a printed copy of your EHR data can be made available to you. Refer to Accessing your EHR for more information on how to access your EHR data. Please note that Ontario Health (Digital Services) can only facilitate access requests for information contained in the EHR. For access to information not contained in the EHR, contact your health care provider (e.g. family physician).

Withdrawing your consent for access to your personal health information in EHRs

Ontarians can block health care practitioners from accessing their EHR data – this is called a “consent directive.” If you do not want to share your EHR data with members of your health care team, you can restrict access by asking for a consent directive to be added to your record. This means that when a health care practitioner tries to access your EHR data, a notice pops up for them indicating that access to your EHR data is blocked.

See Managing Access to your EHR for more information on consent directives and managing access to your EHR data.

Contact

If you have questions or concerns regarding the privacy practices of Ontario Health (Digital Services), please contact the Ontario Health (Digital Services) Privacy Office.


Complaints

You have the right to contact the office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario if you have a complaint about Ontario Health (Digital Services) privacy policies and information handling practices.

Contact us for more information about our privacy office, practices and policies.

Énoncé des pratiques d’information

Notre rôle

Santé Ontario, l’agence créée sous le régime de la Loi pour des soins interconnectés de 2019, gère les besoins en services de santé dans la province pour assurer la qualité et la viabilité du système de santé, ce qui comprend la protection, l’intégrité et la disponibilité des données sous sa responsabilité et son contrôle, notamment les renseignements personnels sur la santé (RPS) et les renseignements personnels. À la suite d’un arrêté de transfert émis par le ministère de la Santé aux termes de la Loi pour des soins interconnectés en vigueur depuis le 2 décembre 2019, les actifs, droits, obligations et employés de cyberSanté Ontario ont été transférés à Santé Ontario (Services numériques), créée pour fournir les services auparavant assurés par cyberSanté Ontario.

Grâce à des systèmes et processus électroniques ainsi qu’à des technologies de l’information et des communications, Santé Ontario (Services numériques) fournit des services de santé numériques en appui à la prestation des soins dans la province. L’agence épaule les hôpitaux, les cliniques ainsi que les fournisseurs de soins de santé primaires et communautaires en leur offrant des moyens sécuritaires d’accéder aux RPS, de même que différents services sécurisés (infrastructure, hébergement, réseaux, courriels, etc.) pour la transmission, le traitement et le stockage des RPS. Elle se charge plus particulièrement du développement et du maintien des dossiers de santé électronique (DSE) en Ontario. Cet outil permet aux professionnels de la santé de se partager électroniquement entre eux des RPS dans l’optique de prodiguer ou d’aider à prodiguer des soins de santé.

Autorité législative

En ce qui concerne la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels et des RPS, Santé Ontario (Services numériques) tire son autorité des lois sur la protection de la vie privée, principalement la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé (LPRPS) et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée (LAIPVP) ainsi que leurs règlements d’application. La LPRPS est la loi provinciale qui encadre la gestion des RPS et fixe les normes pour en assurer la confidentialité, tout en facilitant la prestation efficace des services de soins de santé.

La LPRPS et son règlement d’application, le Règlement de l’Ontario 329/04, imposent diverses obligations aux dépositaires de renseignements sur la santé (ex. : fournisseurs de soins primaires et médecins de famille), qui recueillent, utilisent ou divulguent des renseignements personnels sur la santé. Santé Ontario (Services numériques) n’est pas un dépositaire de renseignements sur la santé aux termes de la LPRPS. En fait, il peut agir à divers titres sous le régime de cette loi, selon sa relation avec le dépositaire de renseignements sur la santé concerné : en tant qu’organisation prescrite, en tant que fournisseur d’un réseau d’information sur la santé, en tant que fournisseur de services électroniques ou en tant que mandataire. À titre d’organisation prescrite par la partie V.1 de la LPRPS, Santé Ontario (Services numériques) a l’autorité légale pour développer et maintenir les DSE.

Organisation prescrite

Selon la partie V.1 de la LPRPS, une organisation prescrite peut et doit développer et maintenir le dossier de santé électronique (DSE), un dossier sécurisé et confidentiel contenant les antécédents médicaux d’un particulier (médicaments, rapports d’imagerie diagnostique et résultats d’analyses en laboratoire) que les dépositaires de renseignements sur la santé et les professionnels de la santé (hôpitaux, médecins, infirmiers et techniciens de laboratoire) peuvent consulter et partager.

Toujours selon la LPRPS, une organisation prescrite ne recueille pas de RPS auprès des dépositaires de renseignements sur la santé et ne leur en divulgue pas non plus. L’organisation est plutôt chargée de développer et de maintenir le DSE, ce qui offre aux organismes de soins de santé et aux praticiens un moyen sécurisé et confidentiel de partager des renseignements personnels sur la santé entre eux ou avec les entités autorisées par la loi, dans l’optique de prodiguer ou d’aider à prodiguer des soins de santé. Pour en savoir plus sur le DSE et les renseignements qu’il contient, consultez la Description en langage clair du dossier de santé électronique. Le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario (CIPVP) révise et approuve les pratiques d’information des organisations prescrites tous les trois ans.

Santé Ontario (Services numériques) développe et maintient le DSE en Ontario, conformément aux pouvoirs et fonctions assignés aux organisations prescrites dans la LPRPS. En plus d’assurer la confidentialité et la sécurité du DSE, Santé Ontario (Services numériques) a les fonctions suivantes : veiller au bon fonctionnement du DSE; gérer les données du DSE; veiller à l’exactitude et à la qualité des données versées dans le DSE par les dépositaires de renseignements sur la santé; et analyser les données du DSE pour envoyer des alertes et des rappels aux professionnels de la santé pour qu’ils les utilisent lors de la prestation de soins aux particuliers. Le document de questions et réponses sur la protection de la vie privée vous donnera plus de renseignements sur la façon dont Santé Ontario (Services numériques) protège et renforce la confidentialité des données contenues dans le DSE, et répond à des questions comme : Qui peut consulter les données du DSE? Comment les données du DSE sont-elles utilisées? Comment l’accès aux données du DSE est-il géré?

Bien que ce soit Santé Ontario qui soit désigné comme organisation prescrite aux termes de la LPRPS, seul Santé Ontario (Services numériques) assume ce rôle. Par conséquent, Santé Ontario (Services numériques) a mis en place des politiques et procédures pour s’assurer d’assumer ses rôles et responsabilités conformément aux exigences imposées aux organisations prescrites. Ainsi, en ce qui concerne le DSE, l’intégralité du travail, y compris la gestion des RPS, est actuellement effectué expressément par Santé Ontario (Services numériques) et seulement par ses employés.

Pratiques et mesures de précaution pour garantir la confidentialité et la sécurité des renseignements personnels sur la santé

Chaque initiative prise par Santé Ontario (Services numériques) est étudiée afin de tenir compte des répercussions sur la protection de la vie privée dans le sens large ainsi que garantir que les mesures adéquates sont mises en place pour cerner et atténuer les risques en la matière. Santé Ontario (Services numériques) a mis en œuvre des mesures de précaution d’ordre administratif, technique et matériel rigoureuses et conformes aux pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie pour éviter le vol ou la perte des renseignements personnels sur la santé transférés, traités ou stockés, de même que leur utilisation, modification, divulgation ou destruction sans autorisation. Ces mesures passent par l’utilisation d’outils (techniques et physiques), comme des logiciels de sécurité, des protocoles de cryptage, des pare-feu, des dispositifs de verrouillage et d’autres contrôles d’accès. En voici quelques exemples :

  • nomination d’un directeur général de la protection de la vie privée;
  • évaluations de la protection de la vie privée pour l’ensemble des projets et initiatives afin de définir et d’atténuer les risques en la matière;
  • série complète de politiques sur la protection de la vie privée exposant les pratiques de gestion des renseignements;
  • formation sur la sécurité et la protection de la vie privée pour l’ensemble du personnel au moment de l’embauche et chaque année par la suite, y compris une formation adaptée au poste pour les personnes ayant un accès défini et contrôlé aux renseignements personnels ou aux renseignements personnels sur la santé;
  • accords entre les dépositaires de renseignements sur la santé (fournisseurs et organismes de soins de santé) pour définir les rôles, responsabilités et obligations encadrant leur contribution et leur accès au DSE;
  • contrôle de l’accès pour que les gens ne puissent consulter les renseignements personnels ou les renseignements personnels sur la santé que de façon directement proportionnelle à la durée de leurs fonctions et aux fins nécessaires à leur exécution.

Pour en savoir plus sur les mesures de précaution en place à Santé Ontario (Services numériques), cliquez ici. Pour en savoir plus sur les évaluations de l’impact sur la protection de la vie privée, cliquez ici.


Vos droits à la protection de la vie privée

Dossiers contenant des renseignements personnels sur la santé : accès et rectification

Selon la LPRPS, vous avez le droit d’accéder aux données concernant votre santé. Cependant, les patients n’ont actuellement pas accès numériquement aux données de leur DSE. Fournir aux patients et à leur famille un accès numérique à ces données est une priorité pour Santé Ontario et le ministère de la Santé, qui travaillent en ce sens. D’ici là, vous pouvez demander une copie papier des données contenues dans votre DSE. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Accès à votre DSE Veuillez noter que Santé Ontario (Services numériques) peut seulement répondre aux demandes d’accès aux données contenues dans le DSE. Pour accéder à d’autres données, communiquez avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé (ex. : médecin de famille).

Révoquer votre consentement à l’accès aux renseignements personnels sur la santé contenus dans le DSE

La population ontarienne peut empêcher les professionnels de la santé d’accéder aux données de leur DSE. Elle n’a pour cela qu’à remplir une « directive de consentement ». Si vous ne souhaitez pas partager les données de votre DSE avec les membres de votre équipe soignante, vous pouvez restreindre l’accès à votre DSE en demandant l’ajout d’une directive de consentement à votre dossier. Cela signifie que si un professionnel de la santé essaie d’accéder à votre DSE, une fenêtre apparaîtra sur son écran pour lui notifier qu’il ne peut pas accéder à vos données.

Consultez la page Gestion de l’accès à votre DSE pour en savoir plus sur les directives de consentement et la gestion de l’accès à vos données.

Personne-ressource

Si vous avez des questions ou préoccupations concernant les politiques en matière de protection de la vie privée de Santé Ontario (Services numériques), communiquez avec son Bureau de la protection de la vie privée.


Plaintes

Vous avez le droit de communiquer avec le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario si vous voulez porter plainte concernant les politiques en matière de protection de la vie privée et les pratiques de gestion de l’information de Santé Ontario (Services numériques).

Communiquez avec nous afin d’obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet de Bureau de la protection de la vie privée ainsi que nos pratiques.